Used two triple points in one word do they both still count?

by Tracy

I used the word MEANDERS which has used two triple point squares. Do I count both or just one?

Hi Tracy - I have some good news for you. You count BOTH triples.

If you mean Triple WORD Squares, rather than Triple LETTER Squares, then what you have scored is called a 'triple-triple' (or a 'nine-timer', by some). It doesn't score SIX times the value of your play, but rather NINE times.

Why? Because a triple-triple is interpreted as 3x3 rather than 3+3. Triple-triples are the holy grail of Scrabble and the cause of those occasional mammoth record scores you hear about (200+ points for a single play, for example)

So, well done Tracy!

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.