Triple Letter Score

by Heath
(Franklin Springs GA)

Say there were two words, PLAY and YARD. Suppose they both intersect at a triple letter score. If I put down a S making PLAYS and YARDS, does the triple letter count for both words, since it was used individually at the same time?

Hi Heath - Yes, the triple letter square counts twice because it occurs in both words. In the picture I've posted above, you see an even more interesting case. This time the interesting square is a triple WORD square (instead of a triple LETTER square).

Again, in this situation the triple word would be applied to BOTH words, and the resulting scores added together. This happens whenever you place a tile on a premium (i.e. colored) square that makes two words in the process.

I hope that answers your question,

Scrabble Help FAQ

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.