by Logan

If the word KITCHEN is placed vertically and someone puts a "S" at the end of it and creates KITCHENS. The S word is SWORD and there is a double word score under the "R" of sword. Is it correct that they only get the double word score for the word SWORD and not double word score for SWORD and KITCHEN?

Hi Logan - Yes, that is correct.

The only time a double word square counts for both words is if it sits underneath the intersection tile (and you played that tile).

In your example, if the double word square was under the S of your SWORD play, then you would be entitled to double the score of both words.

I hope that makes sense.

All the best,

Scrabble Help FAQ

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.