Regarding the Challenge Rule, can a player be challenged twice in a single turn?

by Sue Wilson
(Dallas, TX, USA)

Four players are in the game. Player #1 put down the word NICER below the word CAMPED, like this...

             N I C E R

I challenged NICER, and of course it turned out to be a real word. After this challenge was over, another player said she wanted to challenge the down word of DI ... and, the argument ensued!! (SMILE)

We all said you can't have two challenges in one turn, but couldn't find any written rule. What do you think about this?

Hi there Sue. You are allowed to challenge any number of newly formed words in a given move. However, at least in official Scrabble games, you aren't allowed to wait for the adjudication of a word before challenging another word.

In other words, you have to say up front which word/s you want to challenge. If you realize after the challenge result that there is another dubious word on the board, I'm afraid it's too late to do anything about it.

I hope that answers your question. Thanks for asking...

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.