Perpendicular word that "breaks" other words are allowed?

by Arana
(Mexicali, Mexico)

Supposing you have CAT and DOG on the board as in the picture above. Can I add B ND to form BAND, as also shown in the picture, but breaking the word DOG in the process?

Reading the rules this is not a parallel word i am adding, so I think any perpendiculars that are formed might get another word but also might break one that was already there, is this a valid move?

If it is not, can you tell me why or what rule forbids this? (I only have the box rules)

Hi Arana - moves like this are definitely NOT allowed in Scrabble. The wording of the relevant rule varies from place to place, but they are all clear about the fact that all adjacent tiles on the board must form valid words.

Here is the wording of the rule from the Hasbro site...

"All letters played on a turn must be placed in one row across or down the board, to form at least one complete word. If, at the same time, they touch others letters in adjacent rows, those must also form complete words, crossword fashion, with all such letters.

The player gets full credit for all words formed or modified on his or her turn."

I've underlined the part of the rule you have violated by forming the non-word DDOG.

Please let me know if that doesn't clear things up for you.

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.