If I miss counting some points, does my opponent receive them?

by Karen
(Porthill ID USA)

During a Scrabble game I missed counting some points on an intersecting word. My opponent noticed this and first gave me the points, but later said, "if you miss the points, I receive them." She waited until much later to say this.

Who gets the points?

Hi Karen - Short answer? YOU do! There is absolutely no such rule as your opponent getting points for YOUR words during a Scrabble game.

Also, although you didn't exactly ask this, if you accidentally mis-score yourself during a game, you are perfectly at liberty to correct the scores at any time later in the game.

All the best,

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.