Does a challenge to a word which is correct cost the challenger their turn?

by Doris
(Denver, Co.)

If a word is challenged and is looked up in the dictionary and is found to be correct, does the person who challenged incorrectly, lose the next turn?

Hi Doris - This one comes up so often that I wrote an entry on it on my Scrabble Rules That Cause Most Arguments page.

Unfortunately, some official Scrabble tournaments are played to the double-challenge rule (where you do lose your turn for incorrectly challenging) and others play to the single-challenge rule (where you don't lose your turn).

There's even a third compromise rule that I describe on that page.

Generally, Scrabble in North America (which is under Hasbro's jurisdiction) follows the double-challenge rule, as you'll see if you visit their site. But in most online Scrabble games two players get to agree on which challenge rule they want to play to.

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.