Can the same word be used twice in a single turn?

by Anzhelika
(Oakville, Ontario, Canada)

My opponent added a letter 'X' next to two 'A' tiles making the word 'AX' twice. Because it fell on a pink square it gave him 36 points. Can he do that? I know you can use the same word more than once in one game, but on the same turn???? Please help, it cost me a game!

Hi Anzhelika - I'm afraid your opponent's move and score were perfectly legitimate. There is no Scrabble rule forbidding repeated words in a single move.

I'm not sure where the popular suspicion against repeated words comes from, but there is no mention of it in the original rules of Scrabble, or in any of the officially sanctioned Scrabble rules that have evolved since then.

Perhaps it just 'feels' unfair that a person can score for two words when they have really only played one? But still, rules are rules I'm afraid.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news for you ;-(

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.