Building Parallel Words

by Lee
(Greensboro, NC, USA)

DISCUS was already on the board. Can I do the following move in one turn?


Hi Lee - This is fine and dandy. I've attached a picture of the usual move sequence used to explain the types of valid plays that can be made in Scrabble.

As you can see in Turn 3, a move that forms a new word while adding one letter to an existing word is AOK.

UPDATE On a re-reading I may have misinterpreted this question. I was assuming that RUD and DISCUS were already on the board. If you mean that RUDE and WEE are both played as a single turn, then no, that is illegal. You can't play words in two directions simultaneously like that.

All the best.

Scrabble Help FAQ

Click here to post comments

Return to Scrabble Help.